Days 35-38: “Grace under abdominal Fire”

AHhhhh GeEz!! It’s been three days since I’ve last written! It feels like a week to me. It’s strange staying with someone or in a city for more than a couple days. Habbits begin to form, we imediately begin inacting some routine or another to maintain our normalcy as human beings. The coolest part is every city, every stop we have the chance to develop whatever habbits we could possibley imagine, because every second is unknown and were determining what it is in this exact moment! CrAzY CoOl!!!
The past few days have been absolutely wonderful; peaceful, silly, energized, simple and abundant. The level of everyday excitement is much more mellow when we’re stationary, hence the no blog for the past couple of days, but the time has come to keep you all up on what and where we are, and I can’t wait!!

Each day begins about the same, Ike and I wake up in our beautiful outdoor bedroom to the chilli and fresh fall air. I go for my daily run and explore new territories of this Mobile neighborhood. When I return Ike and I usually make a fantastic breakfast for ourselves involving some sort a creative hodgepodge of pastries and breads (of which we have a poo-load of)
then sometime in the late afternoon once he’s done with his daily obligations Perry gets revved up to go out and play disc golf. He is completely loving it (and so is Ike)
although I am light years from being “good” at the game, I am slowly improving and it is a game, and everyone knows where there’s a game there will be fun, so I usually go with them. I’m working now on mastering power in my driving and not getting super frusterated, I’ve got a ways to go. Either way we always have a blast! Ike spends his energy coaching us two and playing amazingly. Perrys getting soO much better, it’s fun to watch him improve. My favorite disc golf day was Thursday, not only because it was a beautiful day and great round for throwing, but this was more fantastically the day Ike and Perry discovered that huge hearty looking  mushrooms were growing all along our course path. They were most definetely abundant and looked like a mixture of every mushroom we’ve ever cooked with before. Ike decided he should take some home and use them after our game for cooking a fungul feast. The boys picked  a few of the largest ones judged the color and decided to taste test them seeing if they tasted apropriate for a garlic and herb feast. Apperantly they were not ony apropriate, but a good mid course snack. They ate a good portion of the largest mushroom (mostly Perry) and collected more for dinner. I have an incredibley sensitive stomach so opted to stay out of the tasting fiesta. We continued our game carrying the mushrooms with us, got home and Ike began the preporations for dinner. This is a good time to tell you our new best friend Perry is a little bit of a worried man, he tends to use caution in a lot of what he does (which is hilariously fun for me and Ike:) but none the less in moments has ReAlLy proven benificial to us and THIS is no exception! Perry began researching Mobile Alabama fungus to discover what it is they had feasted and planned on continuing to feast on was. Turns out these giant thick white mushrooms were the most common cause of fungul poisoning in the United States. Perry became really nervous looking, he continued reading and discovered the effects of the poisoning took about an hour/ hour and a half to kick in post eating and as we were approaching the hour mark Perry jumped from his chair ran into the bathroom and began violently puking! Ike and I stood in the study jaw dropped, not knowing WhAt to do to help this man. Ike threw the prepared mushrooms out and we began researching treatments for fungul poisoning. I figured out there is no treatment other than water and letting the poison run it’s way through your system while being violently sick. We felt so bad for this sweet guy! He was a great sport about it too, joking around “eating the shrooms” it was strange to me though that Ike wasn’t feeling the effects. Perry went to bed joking about speckeling the toilet  (HILARIOUS!)  Ike and I sat and waited to see how he would feel, although he got some of the more mild effects of bloating and bowel issues never got sick really. YaY!! Perry felt much better the next day, he even reported feeling better than before he ate the toxic mushrooms, success! He even says he’s going to use this cleanse once every few years!

Ike and I have been dumpster diving every night. Our Mobile homestead is only a short mile from the nearest grocery store that has proven to ALWAYS have a stocked dumpster. Each night we throw on our shoes and heavy winter coats and trek it down there to collect what we can for ourselves and lovely host. We have collected more pastries and breads than we could ever know what to do with. Every dive there are just tons and tons of cakes, cinnimon rolls, tarts, brownines, do-nuts, garlic bread, gourmet wheat breads just soOo much! The only issue we’re really experiencing is that this store has NeVeR had any produce!?! We would much prefer to be collecting fresh non processed foods, but assume they don’t dispose of their fruits and veggies, instead use them in the stores deli and restaurant, which is smart and makes us happy to think they are using waste inteligently in some way:) We now have a house FuLL of these baked goods. I kind of feel I’m living my childhood dream, a house full of sweets more than I could ever know what to do with, but am finding myself scavenging through our food supplies in search of ANYTHING raw!!

The rest of our time is really just spent brainstorming, cooking, talking and watching “Beverly Hills Cop” movies it all has been super special and beautiful. Ike and I have been having a lot of fun planning creative endevors togther as well. This is just a great time and I’m glad to making the most of it even with out moving. (Kind of a new concept to me)

We are planning on heading out sometime this next week. Our intentions are to walk along the coast and make our way to Florida. I have no idea when we’ll be leaving and it’s awesome! I’m enjoying this period of learning, loving and working on my physical health so focused, but there is nothing sweeter than life comepletely open walking along the side of the road! I love you and am super glad you’re sharing this with us! THANK YOU!!!

About adventureforthesole

Well I'm starting to walk towards new Orleans. My name is Ike, I'm 21 and I love my life. My name is Nicole, I am 25 years old, and I too am beginning an adventure with my long time friend Ike to walk for a while. I love life and adventure, and can't wait to get started!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Days 35-38: “Grace under abdominal Fire”

  1. Emily says:

    Yay for shroom clense (because he lived) yay for dumpster-delish baked goods and a BIG YAY for two corageous souls following thier bliss!!! I LOVE you two!!!

Leave a comment